Hell's Foundations Quiver - David Weber

Hell's Foundations Quiver

By David Weber

  • Release Date: 2015-10-13
  • Genre: Science Fiction
Score: 4.5
From 141 Ratings


Hell's Foundations Quiver: David Weber's New York Times-bestselling Safehold series begun with Off Armageddon Reef, By Schism Rent Asunder, By Heresies Distressed, A Mighty Fortress and Like a Mighty Army.


Centuries ago, the human race fought its first great war against an alien race-and lost. A tiny population of human beings fled to distant Safehold. Centuries later, their descendants have forgotten their history; for them, life has been an eternal Middle Ages, ruled by the Church of God Awaiting, whose secret purpose is to prevent the re-emergence of industrial civilization.

But not all of Safehold's founders were on board with this plan. Those dissidents left behind their own secret legacies. One of those is Merlyn Athrawes, cybernetic avatar of one of Earth's long-dead defenders, now reawakened after a thousand years to restart human progress and reclaim our place in the universe. Merlyn has intervened in the small Safeholdian realm of Charis, seeding it with ideas and innovations and helping it to rise to challenge the hegemony of the Church.

It's been a long and bloody fight, but aided by a stream of inventions--breech-loading rifles, signal rockets, claymore mines, new approaches to manufacturing and supply-Charis and its few allies seem to have finally gained the upper hand. Now major realms have begun to consider switching sides.

To all these ends, Merlyn Athrawes has been everywhere, under multiple disguises and wielding hidden powers. The secret of who and what he is has been closely held. But a new player has arrived, one who knows many secrets-including Merlyn's own.

Safehold Series
1. Off Armageddon Reef
2. By Schism Rent Asunder
3. By Heresies Distressed
4. A Mighty Fortress
5. How Firm A Foundation
6. Midst Toil and Tribulation
7. Like A Mighty Army
8. Hell's Foundations Quiver
9. At the Sign of Triumph

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.


  • Mostly a disappointment

    By Ruppy1
    I really enjoyed the first few books of the series: interesting premise, good characters, good military fiction. Alas, now it has become a question of how many more volumes the author can get out of this series to keep the money flowing. 80% of this book is logistics, with 10% forwarding the plot and 10% appendix. The logistics could easily have been improved by maps which showed the areas in better detail. I was constantly referring to maps that did not show the location of the current action. I long for a book with an ending, and feel ripped off reading a story in installments. In the case of this book, there was even less plot or character progression than the last . This author can and should do better.
  • Wait for the discount paperback

    By Bitter Arugula
    Based solely on the rest of the series, it can't be worth paying a premium price for this book. Certain to feature some great battle sequences, but wait for the bargain rack.