A Murder in Paris (A Year in Europe—Book 1) - Blake Pierce

A Murder in Paris (A Year in Europe—Book 1)

By Blake Pierce

  • Release Date: 2021-03-02
  • Genre: Cozy
Score: 4
4
From 385 Ratings

Description

“When you think that life cannot get better, Blake Pierce comes up with another masterpiece of thriller and mystery! This book is full of twists, and the end brings a surprising revelation. Strongly recommended for the permanent library of any reader who enjoys a very well-written thriller.”
--Books and Movie Reviews (re Almost Gone

A MURDER IN PARIS is the debut novel in a charming new cozy mystery series by USA Today bestselling author Blake Pierce, whose #1 bestseller Once Gone has received 1,500 five-star reviews.

Diana Hope, 55, is still adjusting to her recent separation when she discovers her ex-husband has just proposed to a woman 30 years younger. Secretly hoping they would reunite, Diana is devastated. She realizes the time has come to reimagine life without him—in fact, to reimagine her life, period.

Devoting the last 30 years of her life to being a dutiful wife and mother and to climbing the corporate ladder, Diana has been relentlessly driven, and has not taken a moment to do anything for herself. Now, the time has come.

Diana never forgot her first boyfriend, who begged her to join him for a year in Europe after college. She had wanted to go so badly, but it had seemed like a wild, romantic idea, and a gap year, she’d thought, would hinder her resume and career. But now, with her daughters grown, her husband gone, and her career no longer fulfilling, Diana realizes it’s time for herself—and to take that romantic year in Europe she’d always dreamed of.

Diana prepares to embark on the year of her life, finally turning to her bucket list, hoping to tour the most beautiful sights and sample the most scrumptious cuisines—and maybe, even, to fall in love again. But a year in Europe may have different plans in store for her. Can A-type Diana learn to go with the flow, to be spontaneous, to let down her guard and to learn to truly enjoy life again?

In A MURDER IN PARIS (Book #1), Diana hopes to kick off her journey, and find new love, with an unforgettable night at the Versailles ball. But when the dramatic night takes a harrowing turn she could never expect, Diana realizes she will have to solve the crime—or else have her trip end in disaster.

A YEAR IN EUROPE is a charming and laugh-out-loud cozy mystery series, packed with food and travel, with mysteries that will leave you on the edge of your seat, and with experiences that will leave you with a sense of wonder. As Diana embarks on her quixotic quest for love and meaning, you will find yourself falling in love and rooting for her. You will be in shock at the twists and turns her journey takes as she somehow finds herself at the center of a mystery, and must play amateur sleuth to solve it. Fans of books like Eat, Pray, Love and Under the Tuscan Sun have finally found the cozy mystery series they’ve been hoping for!

Book #2 (DEATH IN FLORENCE) and book #3 (VENGEANCE IN VIENNA) in the series are now also available!

Reviews

  • Paris what a town

    5
    By kitty kat41
    Could not put this book down. Exciting and frightening and fun all at the same time. Joyce in Boise,id
  • Don’t bother

    1
    By meandering moments
    Not worth wasting time on...
  • Just not believable

    2
    By BrisketBaby
    Too fluffy even for me.
  • Murder in Paris

    3
    By gweneeth
    Mysteries are supposed to be believable. This one wasn’t. Over 50 lady conveniently finds trellis and climbs to some guys apt to accuse him of stealing a priceless necklace. I don’t think so. Just/one of many craaye threads to this story. Thanks anyway. G
  • Well written.

    4
    By Universe2892
    Murder happens after the better half part. The MC, Diana, age above 50 years old, a marketing manager just become Sergeant Jade Monroe after the murder happens, especially when she wasn’t even interested in detective type things before. She continuously chose to break the law and thinks that she knows better than the police. Surprisingly the police didn’t even ask her the details of whoever she had contact with in the party. She just gradually remembered all that. Thankfully, she let police do their jobs in the end. Overall, its a good read though!
  • Fun read!

    4
    By HappymommyVB
    It was great but too short! I’m ready for more.
  • Dramatic!

    4
    By Coleyinsc
    This was a very quick, fun read! Loved all of the crazy twists & turns I’ve come to expect from Pierce. Well done! I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
  • Good read

    5
    By Granny Loves to Read
    Interesting and entertaining characters. Lots of twists and turns with plenty of drama thrown in. Keeps you hooked from the first page. Like the older characters in the story. Great location for mystery and intrigue. Good read. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
  • Murder in the city of Paris

    5
    By Angeltobe
    When a midlife crisis hits what better place to go but Paris. Besides 30 years ago Diane Hope had an amazing boyfriend in college who was Royalty from France and they always promised to meet at his family’s ball in Versailles. She quits her corporate job hops a plane and walked write into a murder mystery. Life used to be boring but not anymore for Diana. What happens in Paris stays in Paris.

Comments