The Wife Upstairs - Rachel Hawkins

The Wife Upstairs

By Rachel Hawkins

  • Release Date: 2021-01-05
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 662 Ratings

Description

Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

“Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” ––EW


One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN Newsweek • Vulture • PopSugar • Parade • BuzzFeed • E!Online TimeOut • Woman's Day • Goodreads • She Reads • Good Housekeeping • CrimeReads • Frolic • Hello! Mystery and Suspense

January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie––not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past––or his––catches up to her?

With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

Reviews

  • Riveting

    5
    By mmiles1971
    Loved this book. It was gripping from page one. I couldn’t put it down. Lots of unexpected twists and turns!
  • Was this book edited?

    1
    By Bluecollarmoxie
    “The Wife Upstairs” is absolutely riddled with typos and grammatical errors. Crazy how some people have to fight to have their books published, when dumpster fires like this exist.
  • Amazing work!

    5
    By Mscarolx44
    Loved this book! Read the preview and I had to buy it! I could not put it down !! Love love. Great book.
  • Not Jane Eyre. * Spoilers*

    2
    By ClarkChurch
    The hype is this is a contemporary telling of Jane Eyre. The only thing that resembles Jane Eyre is the characters name is Jane(or is it?) Mr. Rochester is now Eddie and the crazy wife is locked in a panic room upstairs. Other than that, nothing resembles Jane Eyre. Jane is a thief/goldigger who lures Eddie into marrying him and tries to become like the other Stepford Wife’s in town. Once she discovers what happened to Eddie’s wife she tries to release her, but possibly got it wrong. The house burns down and the bodies of Eddie and the wife are never found. Jane finds out Eddie changed him will and she ends up richer than anyone. This book has no likable characters and the all have dark secrets. I really wanted this story to end as quick as possible. The author stated after she read Jane Eyre she thought Jane could do better. Well, after reading this we deserved something better.
  • Wow wow wow

    5
    By Amandadelrosso
    Soooooo good!! Just when I thought I had it figured out, BOOM, another twist. Thank you for this amazing read. I read it in one day, haha, because it’s THAT good. I just couldn’t put it down. I highly recommend this book!!
  • Incredible book

    5
    By HaleyMalloy
    This book was absolutely amazing!!!
  • Loved it!

    5
    By sometimesreader
    This was the exact type of book I was looking for. Funny. Mysterious. Mature but not dragging on and one. This one must be one of my new favorites.
  • COME UPSTAIRS AND DISCOVER THE MYSTERY

    4
    By happytroyboy
    THE WIFE UPSTAIRS by Rebecca Hawkins 🌟🌟🌟🌟 from #BookedBySimplyTroy This twisty, Southern Gothic suspense thriller set among the Alabama gated community of McMansions, murder, and mystery is waiting for you to dive in. Jane is a broke dog-walker with sticky fingers in Thornfield Estates when she meets recently widowed Eddie Rochester. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, Blanche and their bodies lost to the lake. As they fall for each other, Jane is haunted by the legend of Bea, a stylish beauty who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand called Southern Manners (which is what I thought it was called in my head while listening to it)/Southern Manors (which is how it’s actually spelled in the book). Think of a Reese Witherspoon Draper James-type southern lifestyle company. Jane has her insecurities and anxiety over Eddie’s late wife, but also a curiosity that keeps her poking around the nosey neighborhood, and doesn’t really like the answers she uncovers. The suspenseful story will keep you moving along briskly and the characters aren’t exactly lovable, but they sure do make you keep turning the pages to find out more. I’m all for characters that aren’t picture perfect robots. Give me the flawed ones any day. They’re so much more entertaining. Jane wasn’t perfect by a long stretch, but to watch her think and be calculating and trying to figure everyone else out in the neighborhood kept me wanting more and more answers. I listened to the entire book in the audiobook format on Libro.fm in a single day and went back and re-read different chapters in the physical book too. Also, I know the publishers are using the “Jane Eyre” marketing tools to bring in the readers but to be honest I didn’t compare it to Jane Eyre in my head as I read it and just had a ball reading it instead. Don’t let that discourage you from picking up the book nor if you’re a huge Jane Eyre fan then being disappointed if it’s not an exact update like you are anticipating. Just go along for the ride, enjoy your suspension of disbelief and allow the book to entertain you cause it was a BLAST of a modern domestic suspenseful thriller with moments where I laughed out loud to myself. I had some “oh let me read that again did that really just happen?” moments that I loved experiencing. Thank you St. Martin’s + Mystery Book Club for the advance book copy and thank you to Libro.fm for the advance listening copy/audiobook. * Named an Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick for January 2021 * "Best New Books Coming Out in 2021" ––PopSugar * "Most Anticipated Thrillers of 2021" ––She Reads * "Best and Most Anticipated Thrillers of the Year" ––Mystery and Suspense Magazine * "Most Anticipated Books of 2021" ––CrimeReads
  • Hook, line, and sinker!

    5
    By MrsM22
    What a way to start a bookish New Year! If the rest of the 2021 books bring anywhere near the same kind of excitement that “The Wife Upstairs” by Rachel Hawkins did, then we’re in for a treat! Jane starts walking dogs in an uptown neighborhood, trying to flee her past when one thing leads to another, and she ends up setting her sights on Eddie. But there's a catch. After having gone missing from a boating accident where her best friend died, Eddie’s wife Bea was also presumed dead, leaving her fame and fortune to the newly ‘widowed’ Eddie. Can Jane’s luck really have turned that fast? All she has to do is charm Eddie, right? This story really threw me for a loop! I was immediately pulled in: hook, line, and sinker. Now I don't remember much from the original Jane Eyre, but this very fact probably helped me enjoy all of this tale’s wow factors even more. I love when I read (or listen to) a book and think that I have it all figured out only to be shown just how wrong I was! What a thrill ride! Hawkins’ cast of characters was quite entertaining, each with their flaws and redeeming qualities. I went back and forth, rooting both for and against them. The audio is delivered by three separate narrators, each portraying a character integral to the overall story. It's mostly told from Jane’s point of view, with snippets of Bea throughout and Eddie towards the end. Together, their narrations flowed quite nicely. Even though the chapters are character labeled and divided into parts, I could always tell whose I was on by the voice. These three brought the characters to life with a passion. A lot of times, I like to go in between the audio and physical book, not this time - I couldn't get enough of this audio! I'd recommend this book to thriller fans everywhere, so long as you don't mind the whole twisted up classic Gothic retelling aspect. Many thanks to the author, publisher, and NetGalley for my complimentary copy of this title. I have voluntarily and honestly reviewed this title.

Comments